Datehazard’s Blog

On dating, singleness and adjusting to being 30ish.

A welcome and a first post January 29, 2009

Filed under: Loneliness — datehazard @ 11:12 pm

I have a confession to make.

I’ve never had a blog before.

I decided to join the 20th century, kicking and screaming, because I’m fed up. I’m tired of feeling alone and of being single. Maybe I’ll find what I’m looking for through this blog: maybe I’ll find a community of peers, people who can also share their stories. I want to hear from you, I want to read your stories of woe, your shared triumphs. I want to read a blog as well that’s not all “oh yeah, I was single once, but my life is SO together now, look at my pregnancy” nonsense.

I want you to know that you’re not alone. That the dull, gnawing tedium of just-another-Friday-night-at-home feeling is being shared, right now, by thousands, if not millions of people, just like you, just like me, all around the world. The despair and the seeming lack of end to this dark tunnel is an illusion. Or if it isn’t, and that tunnel never ends, then what needs to happen is a new appreciation of that long dark hallway.

I’m also using this blog to air out some of my grievances, and release them into the ethernet, to vanish as so many millions of bits and bytes.

My favourite yoga instructor always makes us “release… and let go,” after all. Her mantra is all about the release. It’s a chant I find incredibly soothing.

Welcome to my blog. You are in safe hands.

 

Leave a Reply

