Datehazard’s Blog

On dating, singleness and adjusting to being 30ish.

Birthday week is the busiest week March 2, 2009

Filed under: Desire,frustration,Singleness — datehazard @ 10:54 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

It’s my birthday this week. I turn 35.

If I could catch a breath to think about that, I might feel a little sad; mainly because my life isn’t where I’d imagined it would be at this point. And it would be nice to be able to catch my breath.

But it is a really crazy week. Work-related functions have just sky-rocketed and I have 6 major functions to attend in a space of 4 days. Each function will take about 3-4 hours of my time. Some of the functions will require much more time than that. And they are all on consecutive days, and require that I have my people skills in place as I will be dealing with a lot of different types of people. And somewhere in there the Corporate Lawyer wants to see me and (pardon my French) fuck my brains out. Trust me, I am long overdue for a good session. But I just don’t have the time this week.

I know he’ll be disappointed. He’d been trying to make plans to spend a night together for a few weeks now. But it’s either I drop these events (which happen once a year), or I drop my plans with him. They are not compatible.

Again, this schedule is not what I’d envisioned for a relaxing birthday week. My initial plan was to take an extended long weekend and go somewhere cheap and warm, like Florida, or wherever I could find a cheap travel deal. Instead, I’m going to be working my butt off, and having to shift gears several times this week, between teaching, then networking, then mingling, and politicking.

Attending all of these events means that I don’t even have the space to think about turning 35. It’s a great way to stay focussed, and I’m really glad I love what I do.

But clearly, once again, work wins.

When am I going to learn how to prioritize my social life?

 

Leave a Reply

